CPR Refugium/Protein Skimmer

baeya

Aquarium Addict
Just wanted to post a little about the CPR Refugium/Protein Skimmer I have on my 65 gal Seahorse tank.

aquafuge_ps_l.jpg

I really didn't know what to expect using a protein skimmer but, while reading other posts I gathered that I should be emptyiing the cup or at least seeing it fill up. I've never used a protein skimmer before. From reading posts, I also seen that some tweeking is necessary for it to work correctly.

Well, after two months of use, I've never really seen it do much. I've only seen about a quarter inch of stuff in the cup. I've turned the little screw thing to adjust the amount of bubbles to slow or fast and still never got any amount of stuff in the cup.

Yesterday I did a thorough cleaning of the tank and pulled out a lot of the excess macro algae out of the refugium. There was a lot of thick green slimey stuff in there that was also getting into the tank. I noticed that there was a kink in the airline hose that goes from the intake pump to the screw adjustment for the skimmer. I straightend it out and re-routed it so it won't kink again.

This morning.....the cup is full! Oh boy!! Is that what is suppose to happen?! There is a greenish tinted oily kind of 'water' in it. My new concern is that it will overfill if not attended to daily. It is difficult to know what to expect when you've never seen one work correctly before. I hope I'm on the right path with this piece of equipment.​

Yes thats what it is suppose to do. That would be a "wet" skim. If I remember correctly the cup on that skimmer can be adjusted up or down. The more you adjust it away from the bubbles the "dryer" the skim will be. Light green is wet and the darker brown/ black is dry.

If it's very watery, you want to adjust it so that the skimmate is thicker and darker. Or else you will have to replace too much water.