first build. bow front. need critique

banthonyb71

Reefing newb
This is a total new hobbie for me. As of 3 week ago I knew 0% about Saltwater reef aquariums. I have been studing like midterm exam ever since. Sooooooo much to learn. Heres what I got so far. about 60 ibslive rock and a few clean up crew members. My water has been cycling for 3 weeks and I have been adding Live rock and dry rock here and there.. So as of now Im just learning as must a possible about buying and aquascaping live rock. All pointers on this needed and welcomed. thanks

I have a few pieces of Florida and Pohnpei base and some Fiji. (although I was told Pohnpei and Fiji may be the same thing)???
I got some epoxy because I wanted to do some shelves
epoxy.jpg

I had two shelves cut out of large pieces of Pohnpei. I glued one shelve to this Large Pohnpei rock
shelf.jpg

I then glued another piece of Pohnpei together to form a bridge between the two.
intankout-1.jpg

Meanwhile I set a couple pieces of live Fiji in until I did some aquascaping
intankwet.jpg

Here is the side shot of what the shelving looked liked. The bottom piece isnt glued rather resting on top of a piece of Fiji
intankwet2.jpg

I wanted to give the impretion of steps with the shelves.
intankside.jpg

This is from the front with two tunnels underneath and two arches over top. (although I assume the archin probably will have to go once I get larger corals?
after.jpg

Well there is my first aquascape.
Before
tanknoflash1.jpg

and after
after.jpg

Nice aquascaping so far!! I like your work with the shelves. The arches may not have to go when you're ready for coral, you'll just have to be conscience of which corals you put where, depending on their individual lighting and flow requirements. You're off to a great start!

Thanks a bunch guys. I do want to do a black background with window tint however my tank is already set up. and the location where it sits it's hard to get behind it.