fish are dying in new 20 gallon tank please help!

hart.thomas

Reefing newb
Hi I'm very new to this so ill tell u what's going on.

I have a 20 gallon tank I just started its fish only it use to be a rabbit tank my aunt had we cleaned it to make sure it wasnt dirty at all. First we put the seasalt from the store in and the salitity is around 34. Then We filled it with city water and used a chemical that I was given to remove bad stuff from the water. Then we added live sand got the temperature to 76. We bought q clown fish and 2 damsels to start the cycle. Within the first day the clown fish died it wasnt eating and stayed close to the bottom corner. Now a few hrs later our smaller blue damsel is dieing he has white on him its not spots its more like discoloration. He's laying in the bottom and will die in an hr probably I don't know what to do to fix this. There's one fish left and he seems fine. Also we have a submersible heater and a filter on the back no other equipment other than the normal hood light for a tank. Please help me figure out what's going on. It was a present for my girlfriend for our anniversary

Unfortunately, you moved way quicker then you should have. First, you should have between 20-40 lbs of live rock in your tank, it is your main source of filtration in saltwater tanks. Second, you should never cycle your tank with fish, doing so results in your fish dying as you've found out. Third, you need to slow down, things in this hobby take a long time and can't be rushed.

Here are some good articles that should help you out:
https://www.livingreefs.com/do-your-research-first-t26793.html
https://www.livingreefs.com/cycling-tank-adding-fish-and-corals-t26452.html
https://www.livingreefs.com/guide-adding-fish-corals-and-inverts-t35025.html

BL1 has you covered. However I might also add that you should have pre mixed your salt water with RO/DI water rather than city tap water and chemicals.