Help with a new BioCube 29

mateysp

Reefing newb
Hi all, :Cheers:

Have a few questions for the experts here:

Well first off, I just got a new biocube. I have never done a saltwater tank before but have done freshwater for years. Wanted to make sure I have everything I need. I haven't bought anything yet, but here is my shopping cart online:

AmQuel+ Plus Dry 10 oz
Pro-Clear Marine 16 oz
Master Liquid Test Kit Saltwater
Hydrometer 1.000 to 1.030 specific gravity
Florida Crushed Coral 40 lbs
Rotating Deflector FLO
Theo Heater 150 watt
Kent Marine Reef Salt Mix 50 gallon mix (jug)
Instant Ocean BIO-Spira 3.38 oz.

I also plan on getting this live rock.

I don't plan on putting in any coral right now, and I don't see myself doing it down the road.

I need some ideas with live stock, right now I know I want 2 ocellaris clown fish, and a bicolor dottyback. Is there anything else I could do? Any Ideas would be appreciated.

I will also need some help with cycling. I plan to buy that bio-spira, to help the cycle process, but is it worth it? OR should I simply go with a fish-less cycle with the live rock?

Any help would be greatly appreciated!!

Last edited:
Hello!
I have a few suggestions/changes to your list.

You don't need the AmQuel. It is perfectly normal to have ammonia during the cycle (it's the first step of the cycle), so you don't need to buy an additive to get rid of it. It will go away on its own as the cycle progresses.

You also don't need the Pro-Clear Marine. In general, stay away from additives/chemicals for your tank. They often have side effects and usually are not necessary and just cost you money.

Instead of a hydrometer, get a refractometer. Hydrometers are not accurate and need to be replaced every 6 months. Make sure you also get calibration fluid with the refractometer.