I can't find my new goby and pistol shrimp..

bkc824

Reefing newb
I just bought them 2 days ago and the first day they were hiding but weren't with eachother. My pistol shrimp was in a rock and my goby was under one. i think its called a barbershop goby? Anyway.. i found them that night and now there nowhere to be found -_-

i have a foxface
Hippo tang
Percula clownfish
3 little damsels
naso tang
2 starfish
and a different goby (orange spotted watchman?) but the guy said they'll be fine together.

Any suggestions?

well our goby got ripped to shreds by our clown fish. We took the clown fish out, but the poor little guy did not make it. If they died you would probably see them somewhere in the tank though. While our goby was still alive, he dug a big hole and stayed in it a lot. maybe that's what yours did?

I'm no expert, but thats my .02

good luck!

-Matt

They're probably just hiding. It's a totally new environment for them. Give it a few more days. They mave have even dug a hole on the back side of the tank and you'll never see them. You have to remember they're always going to do what's best for them so they can survive.

I have a Hi-Fin goby that I only see when I feed. It's not a gurantee that I'll see it every time I feed, but I usually do and I've had it in the tank for 6+ months.

I've had gobies longer than any other fish. They are rarely seen. This is normal. Placing two or more in a tank can be fatal. Shrimp are generally nocturnal. If you have moonlight lamps, you will see them them come out. Many shrimp are eaten by tank mates, compatibility is key. Hope this helps. If you need a good compatibility reference, let me know. There are a few good ones online, and a great paperback reference available.

I'd give them time to adjust to the tank, before you start to see them again. Like mentioned, they may have set up their hole in the back of the tank. At night get a small flashlight, and go exploring. Good luck. :)