lighting: LED vs MH vs T5 vs ???

kBellas

Reefing newb
Greetings !! :D

I need help from all you experts out there. I'm a beginner with a 60 gallon tank (48w" x 13d" x 24h"). Currently I have live rock, live sand, (9)hermit crabs, (10)turbo snails & (1) cleaner ship in there(image attached). Water conditions were tested and everything is stable, my tank is cycled and ready for fish. The only thing im missing is lighting. :frustrat:

I have no idea what is the best lighting. I plan to have corals in there ( SPS/LPS ). I'm unsure of whether to go for the LED's, Metal Halide, T5 or ??? >>>>:shock:<<<<

In your experiences/opinions what do you think is the best lighting to use? What do you use & why?

Your feedback is GREATLY appreciated!! xoxo

Attachments

• tank.jpg
    tank.jpg
    66 KB · Views: 911
First off, welcome aboard. I would go with led. They are most expensive, but you dont need to replace the bulbs every year at 130 bucks for a 4 bulb t5ho. Metals also run alot of heat like what t5's do, so now you may need to run a chiller to lower tank temps. The crisp look of the leds with the amount of shimmer is stunning and you cant get that out of t5s or metals. You also can dim your leds to best suit your corals