Reefing newb
I am new to reef keeping,just started about a month ago. I have-

20 gallon tank
20# live sand
24# live rock
1 chromis
1 sally light foot crab
1 pumping xenia ( new got yesterday)
73 watt corallife pc light (new got yesterday)
and a berlin proten skimmer 60 gallon

all tests are great
0 on all the major
430 on cal.
alk normal range
salt-1.024
temp.-80 F

I have been trying to gather as much info on xenia as possable. Any info would be app. :D

Caution here. you seem to be stocking very quickly. on the Xenia which one are you interested in. Ill post some info if you can tell me which one i.e. xenia sp., Xenia Umbellata.

I would add an iodine and Ph test to your supply and dose some iodine and buffer as needed. I am using lugols solution iodine(very potant stuff) and Marine Buffer 8.3 (to keep the Ph at 8.3)Also if they are in to high of a flow area they seem to sway more a not pulse.If they healthy they usually grow and multiply rapidly. Xenia are notoriously sensitive to low pH. They stop pulsing at 8.3 and really show suffrage under 8.0.So try to keep the Ph at 8.3

Last edited:
I keep a watch on my ph 8.3. I bought some Iodine but I don't want to overdose the tank. I do a 20% water change 1x a week. I run my protein skimmer 24/7. I have not been able to find a test for iodine. I don't want to overdose the tank, but I want to supply the needs. It is a 2 month old tank.
The xenia is a sp I am trying to get info on.

Last edited:
Xenia

Xenia spp. - Waving hand corals - pulse corals, pulsing Xenia.

Size- heights 4"/ polyps reach diameters of about 0.5inch.

Range- Indo Pacific

Aquarium Size- Nano tanks 1 gal or more.

Lighting- Do best under moderate to bright lighting.

Foods and feeding- Get most of their nutrition from their
zooxanthellae but do well with microphytoplankton supplements.

Aquarium Suitability/Compatibility: Easy to grow and keep.