New to the show

cdnz64

Reefing newb
I'm new to this in the since I haven't had a saltwater tank yet, but I've been doing my research.

Here's what I've got and where I'm needing advice/tips. I purchased (last weekend) a 120 gallon tank and stand. I'm planning on purchasing a filter and protein skimmer sometime after friday (yay payday). I''m look for advice as far as what brands people recommend both skimmer and filter wise. I've seen people recommend both HOB's and Canister Filters and as far as skimmers I'm lost because I'm uncertain what is the best.

In a couple weeks (next pay day) I'm planning on purchasing my sand, salt, and a few pieces of uncured LR so I can start the process. I know it's going to take a couple months to get things rolling before I can put fish in it but my goal is ultimately to have fish in the tank by Halloween.

Any suggestions and tips I'll greatly appreciate.

Thanks!

Last edited:
#1 Don't get either kind of filter, get a sump
#2 Why not get the sand, salt and a few pieces of uncured LR first then the skimmer in a few weeks? You can get started without the skimmer.
#3 If you do go with suggestion #2, try to see if you can fit a powerhead or 4 :mrgreen: in with that purchase, but definitely get at least one good size one.
#4 what are you going to use for light? That'll be your other big investment in this hobby
#5 Good Skimmers: Octopus, Deltec, Aqua C and ASM

Hope that helps :mrgreen:

#1 Don't get either kind of filter, get a sump
I would but I'm not familiar with the sumps. Plus I had a bad experience with a sump and had a big mess on my hands with a freshwater tank that I had. I know it was the only time but I'm a little lery of sumps.

##2 Why not get the sand, salt and a few pieces of uncured LR first then the skimmer in a few weeks? You can get started without the skimmer.
Honestly I hadn't thought of that. Thanks.