Reefer noob here

MikMcgyver

Vlamingi owner 4 life!
Hey all,

Hows it goin? Just got my 12 gallon aquapod cycled and a couple of fish kickin it and have a few questions. Here is my current setup... about 15 lbs of LR and 20lbs of LS. Rio800 pump, no bioballs, only filterfloss in the back tank to catch the big stuff.
Param:
ammonia 0
salinity 1.0124
nitrite 0
nitrate 5

DSC_0011-1.jpg

DSC_00032.jpg

Nemo...

DSC_0003.jpg

Marlin.. I know, real original names...

Now that I am completely addicted to SW tanks I want to upgrade to about a 90 gallon tank w/ sump. I have a tank picked out, plus a sump w/ built in refugium. My question is lighting.. Do I have to go MH or can i get away with a decent T5 setup? Also what kind of skimmer would you all recommend? I will start out as a FOWLR then turn to a mixed reef setup later as funds become more available..

I also would like to convert my aquapod to a QT tank. Is there anything special I need to do to it or just leave it as is and keep it seperate from my main tank?

Hi and welcome! Nice setup so far. Be sure to post pics as your tank progresses.

T5s are fine. I run those on my 55 gallon tank and can keep anemones, SPS, LPS, everything. I haven't tried a clam yet, though. On my new 240 gallon tank I bought a MH/T5 combo light fixture. But in my opinion, you can keep pretty much anything you want under T5s. And they are cheaper and run cooler than MH. With a 90 gallon tank you might run into problems with depth though, T5s don't penetrate as deep as MH so for corals that like more intense lighting, be sure to put them closer to the top of the tank.

For a QT tank, all you really need is a heater, small filter and some water movement. I would recommend NOT using live rock or any substrate on the bottom. This will make it easier to clean out. A couple pieces of PVC should give new fish a place to hide and rest.