SPS health issues "Help!"

hoopsdaddy

This is my reef club....
Just got an SPS from a lady at my LFS. It is about 5" tall and about 4"wide. It has about 7 branches. It has several pieces that have exposed skeleton.

Should I cut off the few pieces that have good color and basically "frag" it and discard the exposed pieces or should I try to save the whole piece. This is my first attempt at an SPS(I already know only buy healthy corals...please read the next post by Hoopsdaddy and I will explain) and I would like to attempt to save it. The darker spots on the coral are the polops. They popped out while I was typing this up. Any and all help would be appreciated.
Here is a pic. Sorry about the quality I have 400W MH about 2 1/2 feet above it and my camera ain't all that great.
DSC00091ed.jpg
[/IMG]

Is this a Horn coral, Hydnophora? Thats about right I go and get a very aggressive coral first. Nice work HD.

Last edited:
That's a hydnophora. Very slow growing coral. If it really expelled it's polyps, that is not a good sign at all. The coral is stressed big time. Fragging it will only stress it more.

My hydnophora was like that when I got it,A little over a year ago.Just give it good water and light,and it should come back.Mine did.
But in the year and a half I've it,its only grown maybe a quarter inch.But there is no exposed skeleiton.

Yote yours had exposed skeleton also? If I can save it that would be a sweet deal.
Ok guys, do I need to feed? I know its calc, stron, iod, and mag needs but do you "feed" it. I read that it takes meaty foods? So will it basically also filter feed?
Remember this is my first SPS and I want to start good practices even if this one doesn't make it.

Yote yours had exposed skeleton also? If I can save it that would be a sweet deal.
Ok guys, do I need to feed? I know its calc, stron, iod, and mag needs but do you "feed" it. I read that it takes meaty foods? So will it basically also filter feed?