Territorial already?

Powrsurg

Reefing newb
I'm new to this hobby but am fascinated by it so far. I have a 75 gallon tank with a fuval FX5 filter, about 20-30 pounds of live rock and 40 pounds of live substrate. After setting up the tank and getting the water to temperature, it was suggested to me by my dealer to put a few Damsels in the tank to help with cycling. I paid the 10 bucks and was happymid have fish soon.

I have lie rock on the left of the tank near the intake and put love rock on the right side of the tank near the outflow. The fish will not leave the left side of the tank. They also chase each other away from the intake. It's like they all want to claim that area as their own. They are eating well and seem ok.

Is it normal for these fish to refuse to swim to the other side of the tank?

You need more rock in the tank... they're all trying to hide in the same spot because they can't hide where there is no rock.

Also, you shouldn't cycle your tank with fish, it is unnecessary and cruel. You should see if the store will take them back.

Welcome to the site!

Thanks Erin,

It's great to be here. After cycling is complete and I put more fish in, would the new ones stay to the right side if that is where they are placed? rock being expensive it's going to take a bit of time to connect both sides like you see in those nice reef tanks.

PS - I understand now why I shouldn't have put he fish in before the cycling ended. Curious as to why I was told to put them in. The shop near me is considered one of the better ones on long island.

Welcome, don't feel bad about getting duped by the LFS, you ar not the only one,
Once you are cycled any fish will pick their spots, but to make it easier on you, take your time, build up the live rock, create areas of shelter, a beautiful foundation and it will help stabilize your water so much faster. Then it'll be a smoother transition adding in fish and then down the line any coral if you want reef.

Thanks for the advise!