Cycling a tank, adding fish and corals

Discussion in 'New to Reefing' started by Jmck, May 13, 2010.

  1. Jmck

    Bifferwine I am a girl

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    46,915
    Likes Received:
    5,888
    Location:
    Lynnwood, WA and missing Tucson, AZ
    You can pull it out once you see the ammonia spike. That will help with the smell. :)
     
    Bifferwine, Jan 5, 2013
    1. Advertisements

  2. Jmck

    marquitosjose

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Burlington VY
    For my first Saltwater tank, way back 20 years ago, there was no live rock or live sand to be found. I started my cycle using 2 Black Mollys that I aclimated to salt water with a drip. They actually had babies during the cycle. Once the cycle was done they were aclimated back to fresh water. :D
     
    marquitosjose, Jan 10, 2013
    1. Advertisements

  3. Jmck

    emily120289

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Beantown, MA
    lol, yup! Just a regular piece of table shrimp. I actually used a piece of shrimp you see during cocktail hour.. or at holiday partys :) lol worked fine for me... :Cheers:
     

    Attached Files:

    emily120289, Jan 10, 2013
  4. Jmck

    one800nak

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    brooklyn, NY USA
    so i set up my tank roughly 3 days ago and its doing well so far. i checked ammonia last night and it was zero(im guessing it hasnt started cycling yet) i started with 50 pounds of dry rock and added about 6 pounds live rock from the fish store the following day. i also started with 60 pounds of sand;half live half regular). just running powerhead right now and temp is at 78. salinity 1.021. i was going to add a piece of shrimp today and see what happens...
     
    one800nak, Jan 12, 2013
  5. Jmck

    Bifferwine I am a girl

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    46,915
    Likes Received:
    5,888
    Location:
    Lynnwood, WA and missing Tucson, AZ
    Yep, add the shrimp. That should jump start a cycle. :)
     
    Bifferwine, Jan 12, 2013
  6. Jmck

    one800nak

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    brooklyn, NY USA
    what happens to this shrimp lol does it disinigrate? do i eventually take it out? how soon do you think i should see a jump in ammonia levels?
     
    one800nak, Jan 12, 2013
  7. Jmck

    Bifferwine I am a girl

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    46,915
    Likes Received:
    5,888
    Location:
    Lynnwood, WA and missing Tucson, AZ
    You can take it out when you see the ammonia level start to go up. Some people just leave the shrimp in the tank to rot, but it will start to smell if you do that.
     
    Bifferwine, Jan 12, 2013
  8. Jmck

    cmh6684

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2013
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Killeen, TX
    What size would be good as far as not needing to get one? I have a 29 gal and think it would be ok without one for now. am I correct or should I get one when I have the extra $?
     
    cmh6684, Jan 20, 2013
  9. Jmck

    ErinCahir Sausage Wrangler

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    8,985
    Likes Received:
    1,470
    Location:
    Englewood, CO
    As long as you keep up with your water changes, a 29 gallon will be fine without one.
     
    ErinCahir, Jan 20, 2013
    cmh6684 likes this.
  10. Jmck

    ob_on3

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2013
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    Love this thread....going to pick up my last few items for a local person who's parting stuff out...I'm talking bout rodi unit, substrate, live/dry rock, test kit, hydrometer/refractometer, salt, and then imma start my process to cycle...I'm excited and couldn't be more greatful for all the info....just gonna be a fowlr...wish me luck
     
    ob_on3, Jan 24, 2013
  11. Jmck

    Nemo10 www.facebook.com/mupulo

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Janesville, Wi
    So im starting to get Brown algea on the rocks. I know this means my Nitrates? are high or nitrites? does this also mean my tank has finished cycling?
     
    Nemo10, Feb 8, 2013
  12. Jmck

    Nemo10 www.facebook.com/mupulo

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Janesville, Wi
    FYI its been about 2 years since i had a SW tank lol i dont remember the cycle process.... Sorry for the ignorance...
     
    Nemo10, Feb 8, 2013
  13. Jmck

    little_fish Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    15,713
    Likes Received:
    2,574
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    It means you have nitrates, and you dont know if the tank has finished cycling unless the ammonia and nitrites are zero :)

    Welcome back to the addiction!
     
    little_fish, Feb 8, 2013
  14. Jmck

    Nemo10 www.facebook.com/mupulo

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Janesville, Wi
    thats right Nitrates. I honestly think its from over feeding lmao THEY LOOK HUNGRY :) i will do a water change to drop them down... Thanks for the refresher
     
    Nemo10, Feb 8, 2013
  15. Jmck

    RollTide15

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Good idea. My first water change lowered mine just below 5ppm. I am doing another one this week and hopefully it will drop it to 0 so I can get my Skimmer soon. I just got paid some bonus money so as we all know it will all go to the tank :twocents::grumble:
     
    RollTide15, Feb 15, 2013
  16. Jmck

    Sakura2282 Reef lover!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,103
    Likes Received:
    277
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    Very useful information that every new reefer needs to know :).
     
    Sakura2282, Jul 20, 2013
  17. Jmck

    Sakura2282 Reef lover!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,103
    Likes Received:
    277
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    Thanks for the post very useful :).
     
    Sakura2282, Jul 27, 2013
  18. Jmck

    Fastfittie

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    cool thanks
     
    Fastfittie, Nov 30, 2013
  19. Jmck

    finestbeast

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    17
    Would shrimp (dried and in lil cubes) that I used to feed my hermit crabs in freshwater work the same way?
     
    finestbeast, Apr 28, 2014
  20. Jmck

    salt_for_brains Alabama Reefer VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2013
    Messages:
    1,857
    Likes Received:
    846
    Location:
    Leroy, Alabama
    Potentially it could. You just want to get some rot going to kick off the cycle.
    However, I would rather use a raw piece of table shrimp.
     
    salt_for_brains, Apr 28, 2014
    Aquarian likes this.
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.