Filter?

SeaBee

Ha Ha Thats Funny!
I currently have 2 eheims, 2215 canister, with charcoal and bio stuff in them. I also have a Remora C hob protien skimmer, and 2 Korilla #2 pumps in my 55 gal. tank. I also have about 69 lbs. of live rock. The tank has been set up for three months and all my parameters are good and now seem steady. The question I have is that sumps seem to be the way to go. I have a problem with sumps, that is being a plumber, I know these open sytems will fail and flood. I want to know what the deal is, and can I just put bio balls in one eheim, and charcoal in the other? Someone mentioned nitrate factory to me about the canister. Lets get the prop opinion on this, because I just dont trust the sumps.

SeaBee,

Live Rock & Live Sand become your natural "bio" in your aquarium.
There really is no need for the canisters or bio balls (mechanical bio).

A sump is the more preferred method in aquarium keeping for many reasons.
A sump allows for movement of equipment out of your DT, thus, un-cluttering your display.
A sump also allows for a great place to cultivate pods with the incorporation of a refugium.
A sump will also add to the total water volume of your system, which alone is a tremendous benefit to keeping better water quality and parameters.

If you setup your sump / overflow properly (many DIY guides in the forums) you will not be prone to flooding.

I'd say 90 to 95% of people in this hobby use sumps. If they were destined to fail, as you believe they are, the proportion of people using them wouldn't be so high. If set up right, they won't flood.

I wouldn't use canisters or HOB filters. I'd just stick with the protein skimmer and live rock.

I hope they dont fail, but my nightmare would be while away for a day the darn thing leaked. Well I have the live rock and skimmer, so are the canisters ok? I was told to just use them for charcoal and circulation. I cant see getting rid of them, too expensive.