First Aquarium Project

I have a 50 gallon tank that I wanting to start a salt water tank in. I have decided at first I am going NOT have coral as I am still a novice in this hobbie. What I have done so far is:
  • I added 1-2 in of sand after rinsing repeatedly (this was my first time cleaning sand). The sand is play ground sand that does not contain silicon.
  • I then added the 50 gallons of water useing my water hose.
  • I have a Pengiun 200 filter running on it.
  • After the tank was full, I have added the chlorine netralizer to the water.
  • I then added the salt to the tank per the instructions on the salt I purchased from the local pet store.
I have a Green Spotted Puffer I purchased from Walmartwho my 3 year old son called Simon, in a smaller tank that I also mixed with nuelraizer and salt per the instructions on the package. He seems to be doing fine in the tank for now, after about a week. I have been feeding him regular tropical fish flakes. I have read snails and shrimp type things are required, so it is on my list.

So, after 2 days of water running through the filter and nothing disturbing the sand on the bottom, the water is clear but has this haze look to it. I am sure it is from the sand and water splashing all around while filling the tank, but I thought it would settle after a day or two with the filter running non-stop. Is there any thing I can do to get the water clear?

I know things don't happen quickly in fish tanks. I just want to make sure I am not doing something wrong with the sand instead of rocks in the tank. I like the look of sand. My Simon is about to leap from his current tank into the big one:question:.

I am still waiting to buy some equipment as I am on a limit aquarium budget, but I'll get there. Any tips and pointers would be awesome!

Last edited:
I am hooked on researching aquariums!!..lol