Grow Light cord? What cord do I need for this?

Discussion in 'Lighting, Filtration & Other Equipment' started by Laz, Aug 14, 2013.

  1. Laz

    Laz

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    London, UK
    I recently bought a grow light from a garage sale and it has this three pin port as shown below. I have no idea what sort of plug and where to buy this sort of thing from. Can anyone help? Details below

    [​IMG]
     
    Laz, Aug 14, 2013
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Laz

    fastrd400 It wasn't me! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    7,850
    Likes Received:
    884
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    I would think you could pick one up from your local hydroponics store. Though, you will need a power supply unless you got one with it.
     
    fastrd400, Aug 14, 2013
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Laz

    bjohanson1234 .........

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,000
    Likes Received:
    1,103
    Location:
    Palos Heights, IL
    Just from the lable, it looks like it has a built in power supply. It says it takes AC voltage from 86 to 265 volts. You might be able to get a plug from Radioshack and make your own. Just need to figure out which prong is ground. You can do that by testing for continuity between the metal casing and the prongs. The light should be fully grounded.

    Also, do you have a make and model of the light? It would help to determine what is needed.
     
    bjohanson1234, Aug 14, 2013
    #3
  4. Laz

    mariobrothersleeve squirrel

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Messages:
    2,219
    Likes Received:
    580
    Different places of living! "local hydroponics store"!!!! Hahahahahaha
     
    mariobrothersleeve, Aug 14, 2013
    #4
  5. Laz

    Laz

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    London, UK
    I see, thanks. It's unbranded I'm afraid so I can't really trace it. So I could just essentially buy a female 3 pin plug with a cord and plug it in? Any potential risks? I live in the UK and we run on 240VAC I believe. Not sure if that's relevant, I'm a bit of a novice on electronics.
     
    Laz, Aug 14, 2013
    #5
  6. Laz

    fastrd400 It wasn't me! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    7,850
    Likes Received:
    884
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    We have them all over the place here :Cheers:
     
    fastrd400, Aug 14, 2013
    #6
  7. Laz

    ErinCahir Sausage Wrangler

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    8,985
    Likes Received:
    1,470
    Location:
    Englewood, CO
    They're all over here, too.

    The "other" kind of shop as well.
     
    ErinCahir, Aug 14, 2013
    #7
  8. Laz

    bjohanson1234 .........

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,000
    Likes Received:
    1,103
    Location:
    Palos Heights, IL
    The biggest risk would be fire. You can also damage the light if it does need a specific powersupply and you put the wrong voltage on it. Since you are an electronic novice, I would suggest taking it to someone more knowledgeable to look at. Could you ask the seller if there was a cord for the light?
     
    bjohanson1234, Aug 14, 2013
    #8
  9. Laz

    RockStacker

    Joined:
    May 31, 2012
    Messages:
    945
    Likes Received:
    111
    Location:
    CA-USA
    RockStacker, Aug 15, 2013
    #9
  10. Laz

    kbuser92 Breeder

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2011
    Messages:
    2,365
    Likes Received:
    405
    Location:
    Lincoln, Nebraska
    I personally would just n*****-rig it...find the pos, neg and ground and wire it up. If you aren't comfortable or don't have the knowledge, I would take the whole thing to an electronics store and they have all the info they need.
     
    kbuser92, Aug 15, 2013
    #10
  11. Laz

    Laz

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    London, UK
    Thanks for the help, guys. I found on a lot of these types that there's no power supply and that all I needed was the 3 pin female socket and just a mains wire. Did it all correctly, solder and all and check the continuity in all of them. Plugged it in and works perfect, thankfully. What I found out is, it's actually a grow light for plants. :lol:

    Any sort of place where I could get this sort of thing appraised? I want to sell it on. Guessing a Hydroponics store?
     
    Laz, Aug 18, 2013
    #11
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.