help a noob out

dswofford

Reefing newb
I am new to salt water and to be quite honest a bit terrified. My LFS is decent with advice but they are WAY over priced and are far more interested in selling you the most expensive thing they can, so I'm trying to get most of my stuff off the web to save some money since it seems the live rock is going to cost me a small fortune. Here is what I have so far.

125 gallon tank (not drilled)

(2) 36" current dual 96w compact fluorescent fixtures, each has a dual daylight bulb and an actinic bulb.

(4) 1350 gph power heads

180# aragonite sugar size sand

Berlin triple pass skimmer

15 watt uv sterilizer

I was looking at this overflow http://www.lifereef.com/lg_pref.jpg and was wondering if anyone had any experience with this type of overflow. No one around me will drill tanks and I am not about to attempt to drill it myself.

I am planning on building my own sump

I am planning on getting a 1500 gph mag drive pump.

Please feel free to tell me if I am doing anything wrong or if I have conflicting equipment. Anything is appreciated. Thanks

welcome to the site, the only thing i see to be a problem maybe. depends on what you want in your tank of course though is your light. you wont be able to keep much as far as corals go.

and i looked up the pump and your overflow, mag makes a 12 or 18, i would get the mag12 you should be pretty good with that and that overlfow you picked out.