Is my plan viable?

cjflis

Reefing newb
First of all hi everyone i'm Cj and i'm a noob :( so please be patient,
The photo below is of the tanks i have. The larger one on top is a terrarium and the one below is an aquarium. I plan to somehow strengthen the terrarium until it is strong enough to hold, even when full of water. Then the aquarium below it will be used as a sump because i have read that this is the cheapest way to get a marine tank setup running.

IMAG0027.jpg

My first question is whether its possible to strengthen the terrarium and if anyone has done it before. The glass is only six mm thick and i expect it to hold around 180 liters. The reason i would like to use this is I have to get my python into a bigger home haha. Below is what i plan to use as a sump.

IMAG0029.jpg

And these are the glass tops that i instead plan to use as the glass spacers for the sump.

Can anyone tell me if it is possible to do this and if i can do it cheaply? Because it being cheap is the most important thing. And plan to keep live rock aswell. Any help would be great.

Attachments

• IMAG0030.jpg
    IMAG0030.jpg
    19 KB · Views: 145
One big way aquariums are reinforced is with the trim that goes around the top and bottom of the tank. Rimless tanks usually have a piece of glass or acrylic on the inside/top with holes in to reach into the tank. Those would be your two best options IMO.

I would just buy a new tank. But in your post, you stated that cheap is the most important thing... I completely understand, but if that's the case you may want to reconsider the hobby. This hobby is alot of things, cheap isn't one of them.

You can easily have over a thousand dollars wrapped up into your setup before you even get fish. Just and FYI.

Yeah i understand but Ive seen many people say they can set up a tank cheap. I dont mind spending the extra time to find the cheapest deal or get second hand or whatever. And i plan to collect my own Corals, Inverts and Fish.