strange behavior

rbobi92

Reefing newb
Hello, i am somewhat new to saltwater aquariums, but have been successful for about two weeks with all of my fish. I have two clowns and a black and yellow heniochus. I used live sand and fresh sea water with a temp always between 76 and 82. Recently the clown fish have been displaying strange behavior such as swimming in place, but moving extremely fast. The heniochus is now floating upside down and drifting then coming back into consciousness almost as if he has narcolepsy. I know it cant be a salinity problem since I have not mixed any water and have been using the fresh ocean water from the bag.
Thoughts or suggestions?

I think it could be that the tank is waaayyy too small. It might be stressing them out. On liveaquaria i says a heniochus needs a minimum of 120 gallons. It might even be too small for 2 clowns.

yes i do...the salinity of the tank is right around 1.021. I just did some water exchange to see if that would help, but no results yet.

I think it could be that the tank is waaayyy too small. It might be stressing them out. On liveaquaria i says a heniochus needs a minimum of 120 gallons. It might even be too small for 2 clowns.

I went off of what the guy at petco was saying...i know there not the most reliable place but he does custom tanks on the side so he knows his stuff. At the moment its a juvenile so its only about 2 inches.