TDS Meter and Digital Testers

reefer82

Reefing newb
If those prices are correct, why not buy a controller ? You will get the PH & Temp readings, puls other handy features. then you can get a hand held TDS meter for under $20.

Good point but 300 to 700 on a controller is a tough pill to swallow right now.

You are looking at over $300 just for the three that you linked to above.

There are plenty of brands of TDS meters for less than $20. You don't need to spend $100 on a Hanna one. Just get the calibration fluid with it, and you will be set.

I just got my tds meter for 22 bucks, dr foster blah blah blah, works great, Irun 3 digital thermometers all in different spots, maybe 15 bucks each, cant remember, but all read within .2 degrees, good enough, ph, idk, i only test once in a while, maybe i'm a noob there but my fish always seem happy. Should ph be checked more regularly? 300 is alot of clams Oo

If I have learned what I think I have.. pH doesn't need checked all that often.. it takes something serious to draw the pH out of spec in a reef. I check mine regularly but.. it never does anything but provide me a boring test... same o same o.. every time. TDS meters are cheap.. Digital temp meters with probes are cheap.

If you are like me and are a tech junkie, save your money and get a serious reef tank controller... just my opinion. ... But, I won't because I am having too much fun buying all the little gizmos like PAR probe, (next will be) an electronic salinity meter. Vortech MP 10's, ditital temps, etc.