ughhhhh

Kwater

Chill
i have allready asked everyone and there is no explination that has been brought to the surface but i suppose it will not hurt to ask on here too.

my sps do not grow, i have a good understanding of marine aquarium chemestry and it goes aginst everything i know, y wont they grow!!!! they live but they dont grow ( with the ecception of plating montiporas and pocilliporas to some extent ) my glams grow just fine too

Sounds like they are surviving but not thriving, maybe a need for more lighting, like say exposure or height in tank etc, what are you working with? Also im pretty sure there isnt much that they need other than that for growth but id ask someone if there is something that helps stimulate growth.

Just my guess though im no professional.

well i am running a 24/7 light on my refugium and i am running phos guard.

calcium = 110
alkilinity = 8 dkh
ph =8.2
magnesium = 1350 ppm
specific gravity = 1.025 - 1.026
the other parimiters i do not have a test for but i have never had a problem with them before and the heath of the inhabitants has not changed

my fish include 2 chromises, 2 clown fish, convict tang, blue eyed bristle tooth tang, a damsel and a yellow clown goby who just kicks it in the staghorns.
my lights are a 175 watt metal halide 14000 k
water flow is good, enoughf for all of the branches of the colonies to get good flow, i have adjusted water flow carfully

Last edited:
sorry I was not specific enlightened. I only have sps on the left side of my tank and I only have the metal halide on the left side I also have 2 t5 lights on he whole tank

+1 biff, not near enough light.I got 2 150 watt hqi's on my 90 and can't keep 90% of sps's..even at the top of the tank...