What does everyone do in regards to power management?

Discussion in 'New to Reefing' started by Zissou, Nov 4, 2007.

  1. Zissou

    Zissou What about my dynamite? VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Messages:
    979
    Likes Received:
    140
    Location:
    Alaska
    Pop quiz hotshots! You have lights, skimmers, pumps and powerheads, enough to power half a city, and only a powerstrip to plug it all in, what do you do?

    [​IMG]

    All kidding aside, there's GFCI outlets, power strips, battery backups and god knows what, so what do you do to manage it all? Can't be as simple as plugging everything into a powerstrip, so, lay it on the table! :helm2:
     
    Zissou, Nov 4, 2007
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Zissou

    Bifferwine I am a girl

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    46,915
    Likes Received:
    5,889
    Location:
    Lynnwood, WA and missing Tucson, AZ
    It was as simple as plugging everything into a powerstrip... Until the powerstrip and outlet were getting so hot that the plastic coating was melting and it was too hot for me to handle with my bare hands!

    So now I have everything split between two powerstrips :D. I don't have any backup. If the power goes out, a healthy tank should be fine for a day or two.
     
    Bifferwine, Nov 4, 2007
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Zissou

    reeffreak

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    11,316
    Likes Received:
    2,078
    Location:
    Clarksville,Tn
    I'm using two outlets and three very good powerstrips/surge protectors.Don't use the cheapo kind.As far as power outages,I keep a backup generator just in case.
     
    reeffreak, Nov 4, 2007
    #3
  4. Zissou

    fishbait I found Nemo

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,817
    Likes Received:
    196
    Location:
    southeast oklahoma
    yeah, you're ok with a good quality powerstrip. all the little pumps and powerheads really don't draw that much. and the outlet in you're house should be good for 15 amps per leg.
     
    fishbait, Nov 4, 2007
    #4
  5. Zissou

    LionFish Resident Photoshopper

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    1,670
    Likes Received:
    155
    Location:
    Louisville, Kentucky
    2 outlets. two sets of Timers/power strips and a Squid powerstrip. for the larger plugs
     
    LionFish, Nov 4, 2007
    #5
  6. Zissou

    Rcpilot

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    3,976
    Likes Received:
    412
    Location:
    Melbourne, FL
    I use a powerstrip with GFCI protection for most of the pumps, heater and the powerhead in my mixing bucket . I got too many pumps on my system.

    I use a Coralife dual outlet timer for my tank light, refugium light and a couple pumps that have those hydor roatating thingies.

    Pretty simple. No battery/generator back up. If the power goes down--I guess they die. :sniffles:
     
    Rcpilot, Nov 4, 2007
    #6
  7. Zissou

    MikMcgyver Vlamingi owner 4 life!

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,239
    Likes Received:
    155
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    2 Coralife timers, and the plugs are seperated between to outlets/circuts...
     
    MikMcgyver, Nov 4, 2007
    #7
  8. Zissou

    Zissou What about my dynamite? VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Messages:
    979
    Likes Received:
    140
    Location:
    Alaska
    I was told that it was wise to keep your circulation (pumps) and other things (lights) seperate from each other, and keep them each on their own circuit. That way if your lights happen to trip the breaker, your pumps will continue to run and you won't come home to a dead tank.
     
    Zissou, Nov 5, 2007
    #8
  9. Zissou

    yote Ceritfied Mantis Hunter Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    26,996
    Likes Received:
    3,868
    Location:
    Ringgold,Ga
    You was told right.
     
    yote, Nov 5, 2007
    #9
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.