Ltkenbo's DIY Reef Controller

ltkenbo

Reefing newb
So I've been thinking about this project for a couple of years now. A little background first. I got in the reef hobby about 4 years ago when I was electrical engineering student. I went into electrical engineering because I've always enjoyed taking things apart to figure out how they work and building and designing things. I had this idea floating around back a little bit after I started into the hobby but never got around to actually planning it out real well. Now, I work as an electrical design engineer and so I have more experience now with the kind of things so I'm going to try to implement it now.

I've seen several DIY reef controllers out there and a lot of them use Arduino (http://www.arduino.cc/). Many of you may already know what Arduino is but if you don't, it's basically a microcontroller (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Microcontroller) development board you can program very quickly and easily. It's great for people trying to learn about electronics and microcontrollers because lots of examples are provided and there are all kinds of "shield" boards you can buy to add things like ethernet, wifi, motor control, etc. allowing people to get projects going quickly and easily. Arduino is great for beginners but it not the best thing necessarily performance or at times price wise. What I would like to do is choose a better and more powerful microcontroller, develop my own circuit boards for the controller and program them to end up in the end with a more professional project.

I want to take a modular approach (like most do) to this project. I've decided for a microcontroller I will probably be using a Atmel SAM D20 ARM Cortex M0+ on each module. These are around $2 each and are much more powerful than what is on an Arduino board. It also has cheap programming and development tools and all software needed to develop the code is free. http://www.atmel.com/products/microcontrollers/arm/sam_d20.aspx