why does my sps always lose it's color

rarecoral21

Reefing newb
I have tried every M/H out there and HQI nothing seems to work for me.My coral always looks dull no matter what I try. I have over 40 sps/ lps mostly rare pieces . I cant seem to ever keep there true color no matter where they are in my tank please help.My tank is a 70 gallon with 40 gallon sump / cal reator/phos reator/2 tunze powerheads 6025/6045 and a mag 9 for the return pump.For my lighting i have 2 250mh xtm 20 k bulbs and 4 t5 55w and 10 inc canopy. please helppppppppppppp:frustrat:

mag/ 1350
salt/.22
ph/8.2
cal/ 440
kh/ 10
nit/ 5 but for the most part 0

Humm... seems like all is good and with the 20K lighting the colors should pop! I'm sure others will have some advice. I'm not too good with SPS knowledge, yet. Sorry.

How high are you hanging your light above the water? From my recent test, there is a sharp drop of light after certain inches above the water. Obviously, the height various between different light fixtures and their reflectors. Nonetheless, it is a major factor regardless of the type of light you have.

My phos level is 0 and my lights are about 7in off the water maybe 8in from a10 in canopy that is close on all sides ecep back . And the tank is about 2 month old i just started it back up. My temp in the tanK is always around 77-79 thanks to my chiller 1/4HP

Last edited:
What kind of light fixture you have? For those big pendulum type, 7"-8" off the water should be fine. But for my Outer Orbit HQI, I lost 30% of the light hanging it at 6.2" off the water compare to 5.5". 30% lost from just 0.7"!!!

It could be lack of flow - your Tunze's are about equal to 1 K-3 and 1 K-4 which isn't a whole lot for SPS, high phosphate or high DOC (dissolved organic compounds)...among other things. What kind of skimmer do you have?

How about a FTS of your system.

Your salinity is also a bit low for SPS corals.
I've found that they do better with a salinity of 1.026sg.