Another Noob here

slippi

Reefing newb
Hello, found this forum while searching for advice on a new salt water tank. I just purchased a 110 gal tank. It has the holes pre drilled on the bottom. The guy at the store has his own tank and made some recommendations, but I want to be sure they are correct. I said I should get the wet/dry filter for under the tank and a light, which was a marineland led for reef with a timer. Also, 20lbs of sand, as well as a Fluval SP4 1822gph pump. He said I should get about 200-250 lbs of live rock to go with it. From what I have seen, this may be a little much? or just right? Did he overkill me, or miss something?

the live rock should be like 1.5 - 2 pounds per gal and that is to insure that have enough bio filtration as far as return pump about 10 times your tank and dont forget to acount for head height so 1822 should be good. is this going to mixed reef or fish only? either way i would invest in a ro/di filter (well save you money for water changes)

Welcome aboard. You've come to the right place for advice :)
You may want to look into your lighting options and decide what is right for you. same goes with whatever type of sump you want to use. 150-200 lbs. of live rock should be plenty. I do notice that you didn't mention a protein skimmer which is pretty much a must have item. You will want one rated for 150-200 gallon tank. Research all of your options and livestock before purchasing anything. You will waste a lot of money if you let the store decide what you need. I agree on the at home water filtration. Hauling water is a pain and can get costly. Invest in a RO/DI unit. Most importantly, have fun with your new hobby!

Just thought of another thing you will need. Heater and powerheads for flow inside the tank.