New Starter - Needing advice

Apestyler

Reefing newb
Hi all,

I am very new to all this and would like some advice on how to start out with a marine aquarium, first off I am looking for a decent book which will guide me through setting the tank up to eventually adding fish (I understand that you cannot add fish striaght away and what to do it right the first time and understand what is going on with the cycles etc).

I have short listed the following tanks, your opinions on them (size, value for money etc) would be greatly appreciated.

http://www.theaquariumshop.co.uk/ishop/1029/shopscr46.html
http://www.theaquariumshop.co.uk/ishop/1029/shopscr49.html

Thanks for all your help in advance!

Hi Apestyler,
Welcome to the forum.The tanks you listed are ok for fish ony(some small fish).Do to there lighting.for a reef tank you need to upgrade the lighting to at least a 120 watt power compact and maybe add a protein skimmer. here are some ebay links for lights.
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dl...ame=WDVW Here is a nice complete reef tank http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&category=20755&item=4375859086&rd=1&ssPageName=WDVW

Thank you both for your quick reply. I will take a look at the newbie threads on my lunch break - What is the minimum size you would recommend for a reef tank, also do you know any good UK outlets for buying stuff, I will take a look at the auction that mini reefer posted but I'm guessing postage from the US -> UK would be expensive and very risky.

I'm very impressed with the site - cheers people!

I would go with a minimum of 55 gallons (208 Liters). As an experienced reefer a 75 gallon (283 Liters) or larger would be much more desirable. The larger the better, more water volume means more space for waste, which means less water changes and less fluctuations in Nitrates, Phosphates etc. more room for mistakes.