10 Gal Reef set-up

Discussion in 'Tank Showcase Comments' started by AnthonyTheNewbie, Mar 21, 2013.

  1. AnthonyTheNewbie

    Marinne13 Northern Reefer

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    1,187
    Likes Received:
    150
    Location:
    Great Falls, MT
    Didn't you have a goby in the 10g? If he has been in the tank then you need to QT the both of them, hope it works out for you
     
    Last edited: Apr 1, 2013
    Marinne13, Apr 1, 2013
    #81
    1. Advertisements

  2. AnthonyTheNewbie

    AnthonyTheNewbie

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2013
    Messages:
    1,511
    Likes Received:
    216
    Location:
    Denville, NJ USA
    Yeah, I had the Yellow Clown, and now the Neon Goby. So, I guess both are going into the QT tank tonight. Got the salt mixing with a power head right now. Should be done relatively soon. This sucks :\
     
    AnthonyTheNewbie, Apr 1, 2013
    #82
    1. Advertisements

  3. AnthonyTheNewbie

    Marinne13 Northern Reefer

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    1,187
    Likes Received:
    150
    Location:
    Great Falls, MT
    Man that sucks...sorry to hear that
     
    Marinne13, Apr 1, 2013
    #83
  4. AnthonyTheNewbie

    AnthonyTheNewbie

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2013
    Messages:
    1,511
    Likes Received:
    216
    Location:
    Denville, NJ USA
    And on top of that, one of my power heads from the 55 snapped off the suction cup clip thing. Turning into a lovely night.
     
    AnthonyTheNewbie, Apr 1, 2013
    #84
  5. AnthonyTheNewbie

    Marinne13 Northern Reefer

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    1,187
    Likes Received:
    150
    Location:
    Great Falls, MT
    Ughh, man take a deep breath...the ocean isn't perfect either
     
    Marinne13, Apr 1, 2013
    #85
  6. AnthonyTheNewbie

    AnthonyTheNewbie

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2013
    Messages:
    1,511
    Likes Received:
    216
    Location:
    Denville, NJ USA
    Yeah, been a pretty stressful night. So, got the QT tank up and running. Salinity is at 1.025 (not sure what I should keep it at). Also, any treatments people would recommend for ich? Also, I re-aquascaped the 10 AND the 55. What a nightmare that was lol. It's cloudy as hell from all the sand I stirred up so no pics yet. Hopefully when I get home from work tmrw, it'll look nice, and I won't hate my life for a bit lol. Took out about 40Lbs of the BR(Might be LR by now, been a few weeks since I put it in there). Stuck 20ish Lbs in a bucket with a heater and the other 20 went in a box for when I set up the 29g. Also, bought my son a 10g to start up at some point. Was thinking one BW Clown (may end up with a normal Percula or Ocellaris just because he wants "Nemo") and a Diamond Watchman for his set up when I get it up and running (and cycled). Appreciate any input on the Ich treatment, thanks.
     
    AnthonyTheNewbie, Apr 1, 2013
    #86
  7. AnthonyTheNewbie

    MitchReef reef noobie, since 1986

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2013
    Messages:
    645
    Likes Received:
    62
    Location:
    Oviedo, FL, home of the Oviedo chickens
    Search hyposalinity for marine ich.....
     
    MitchReef, Apr 1, 2013
    #87
  8. AnthonyTheNewbie

    AnthonyTheNewbie

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2013
    Messages:
    1,511
    Likes Received:
    216
    Location:
    Denville, NJ USA
    Can't do hypo, don't have a refracto :\. I'm just going to try treating them with some Ich stuff in the QT. Going to leave the 10g Display empty for the next month to hopefully let any of the eggs that may of ended up in there die. So, the 2nd power head in my 55 broke. Stupid pieces of crap. Went out and bought 2 new circulation pumps rated at 500 gph. Fortunately, the old ones still work, just can't suction them on anything. One, I have tucked in the same spot as one of the new ones. And the other, I'm saving for mixing water. Silver Lining >_>
     
    AnthonyTheNewbie, Apr 1, 2013
    #88
  9. AnthonyTheNewbie

    Marinne13 Northern Reefer

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    1,187
    Likes Received:
    150
    Location:
    Great Falls, MT
    what kind of powerheads were you using
     
    Marinne13, Apr 1, 2013
    #89
  10. AnthonyTheNewbie

    AnthonyTheNewbie

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2013
    Messages:
    1,511
    Likes Received:
    216
    Location:
    Denville, NJ USA
    Two Aqueon 500 Circulation Pumps. Replaced with two Marineland Maxijets. I have all 4 in the tank right now, so, it's pushing around roughly 2000g an hour. Kind of high considering It's a FOWLR tank lol. But, If I ever feel like getting lights for the tank, flow won't be a problem :) lol
     
    AnthonyTheNewbie, Apr 1, 2013
    #90
  11. AnthonyTheNewbie

    reefnoob

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
    Messages:
    864
    Likes Received:
    106
    reefnoob, Apr 1, 2013
    #91
    AnthonyTheNewbie likes this.
  12. AnthonyTheNewbie

    AnthonyTheNewbie

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2013
    Messages:
    1,511
    Likes Received:
    216
    Location:
    Denville, NJ USA
    Thanks, I went out and did some research today on it. Also got some stuff to treat the Ich. Now they stay in the QT till a clean bill of health (Hopefully). The Yellow Clown still isn't showing any signs of it, so I'm hoping I caught it early enough to kill it relatively quickly. Still haven't decided if I should do a FW dip for the Neon or not. Not sure how long I should leave him in there (I know it doesn't kill the Ich, but it does give him some relief from it for a little bit). So, I dunno :\
     
    AnthonyTheNewbie, Apr 2, 2013
    #92
  13. AnthonyTheNewbie

    AnthonyTheNewbie

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2013
    Messages:
    1,511
    Likes Received:
    216
    Location:
    Denville, NJ USA
    Couple of pics of the new rockwork in the 10g, and a pic of the engineer before he showed signs of ich. Also one of my emerald crab :).

    Also, the brown spots on the rocks are diatoms?
     

    Attached Files:

    AnthonyTheNewbie, Apr 3, 2013
    #93
  14. AnthonyTheNewbie

    Greenman

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2013
    Messages:
    508
    Likes Received:
    43
    Location:
    West Virginia
    Engineer Gobys get HUGE. You wont be able to keep him in that 10 very long.
     
    Greenman, Apr 3, 2013
    #94
  15. AnthonyTheNewbie

    Ulta REEFER

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    878
    Likes Received:
    106
    Location:
    Mt. Pleasant, MI
    yup diatoms, will slowly go away :)
     
    Ulta, Apr 3, 2013
    #95
    AnthonyTheNewbie likes this.
  16. AnthonyTheNewbie

    ErinCahir Sausage Wrangler

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    8,985
    Likes Received:
    1,470
    Location:
    Englewood, CO
    The best defense against ich is keeping your fish happy and stress-free. If you're QT'ing one, you have to QT them all. Ich is in that tank. The only way to get rid of it is to leave the tank fallow (fishless) for twelve weeks while treating the fish (with either hypo or copper).

    Had it been me, I would've left the fish in the DT (if he was eating) and let him fight it off himself. Moving from tank to tank is very stressful for fish.
     
    ErinCahir, Apr 3, 2013
    #96
    AnthonyTheNewbie likes this.
  17. AnthonyTheNewbie

    AnthonyTheNewbie

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2013
    Messages:
    1,511
    Likes Received:
    216
    Location:
    Denville, NJ USA
    Sorry I meant to say Neon Goby lol. Minds been all over the place lately. And he's doing much better in the QT. Him and the Yellow Clown Goby are both in QT. All the spots have come off him (Been dosing with copper). And I'm going to leave the DT empty of fish for a while. There is only inverts in there. Can't do Hypo for them because I don't have a refracto right now. They are both looking better, and eating like pigs again. Also, picked up a small zoa colony and some type of polyp (think it's a green one? has green things lol). Once they open up a bit I'll post pics so you guys can help me ID them :).
     
    AnthonyTheNewbie, Apr 3, 2013
    #97
  18. AnthonyTheNewbie

    ErinCahir Sausage Wrangler

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    8,985
    Likes Received:
    1,470
    Location:
    Englewood, CO
    Do you have a copper test kit? Because overdosing for copper is very easy to do.
     
    ErinCahir, Apr 3, 2013
    #98
  19. AnthonyTheNewbie

    AnthonyTheNewbie

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2013
    Messages:
    1,511
    Likes Received:
    216
    Location:
    Denville, NJ USA
    No, I do 10 drops each day at the same time. Between 4:25 and 4:40 (Depending on what time I get home). I been following the directions on the back of the bottle I got.
     
    AnthonyTheNewbie, Apr 3, 2013
    #99
  20. AnthonyTheNewbie

    MitchReef reef noobie, since 1986

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2013
    Messages:
    645
    Likes Received:
    62
    Location:
    Oviedo, FL, home of the Oviedo chickens
    and remember copper is a poison (even for people) so it is not really an easy fix....You really need to read up on stuff, there are MUCH safer ways of treating most things than just using chemicals....as for hyposalinity, I don't know why you would have to have a refractometer....do you have a hydrometer? They will do fine for controlling hyposalinity as well....just take the hydrometer to your LFS and have them compare it to their refractometer....
     
    MitchReef, Apr 3, 2013
    AnthonyTheNewbie likes this.
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.