Chat error popup (doesn't affect my ability to use it)

Discussion in 'LivingReefs.com Feedback' started by wontonflip, Sep 15, 2011.

  1. wontonflip

    wontonflip I failed Kobayashi Maru

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    10,441
    Likes Received:
    975
    Location:
    VA USA
    On all my laptops in the house, but only in chrome, i get a popup TypeError: Object# <HTMLObjectElement> has no method 'create'. Seems to be fine on Firefox.

    I just hit OK, and it doesn't affect my ability to chat. But just thought you'd like to know. :mrgreen:
     
    wontonflip, Sep 15, 2011
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. wontonflip

    Becky Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2011
    Messages:
    813
    Likes Received:
    167
    Thanks for letting us know - I've asked Ian to have a look into it. I'm glad it doesn't seem to stop it working, but let me know if you come across any other problems.
     
    Becky, Sep 15, 2011
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. wontonflip

    ErinCahir Sausage Wrangler

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    8,985
    Likes Received:
    1,470
    Location:
    Englewood, CO
    I've been using chrome for ages now... and I've always gotten that message but never paid any attention to it because it hasn't affected my chatting experience. :D
     
    ErinCahir, Sep 15, 2011
    #3
  4. wontonflip

    Ian Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    924
    Likes Received:
    261
    Location:
    UK
    Thanks for reporting the error!

    I think I've managed to fix it now :D. Can you confirm that it works ok for you now please? :)
     
    Ian, Sep 16, 2011
    #4
  5. wontonflip

    fastrd400 It wasn't me! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    7,846
    Likes Received:
    881
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    I used to get that same error message. I just went into chat and it did not pop up for me.
     
    fastrd400, Sep 16, 2011
    #5
  6. wontonflip

    wontonflip I failed Kobayashi Maru

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    10,441
    Likes Received:
    975
    Location:
    VA USA
    Yep, no more error :)

    So you're saying I'm a whiner :shock:

    :mrgreen:
     
    wontonflip, Sep 16, 2011
    #6
  7. wontonflip

    ErinCahir Sausage Wrangler

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    8,985
    Likes Received:
    1,470
    Location:
    Englewood, CO
    Never! :shock:
     
    ErinCahir, Sep 17, 2011
    #7
  8. wontonflip

    little_fish Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    15,713
    Likes Received:
    2,574
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    While we are on the subject, i get this error when i log into chat

    I dont think its effecting my chatting. I use Safari
     
    little_fish, Sep 17, 2011
    #8
  9. wontonflip

    wontonflip I failed Kobayashi Maru

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    10,441
    Likes Received:
    975
    Location:
    VA USA
    Stop whining lilfish

    :mrgreen:

    This is why browsers need to follow uniform rules. Too much inconsistencies all for the sake of being different.
     
    wontonflip, Sep 18, 2011
    #9
  10. wontonflip

    little_fish Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    15,713
    Likes Received:
    2,574
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    I can whine if want I too!!!!!! im a mod and you cant stop me ;)
     
    little_fish, Sep 18, 2011
    #10
  11. wontonflip

    fastrd400 It wasn't me! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    7,846
    Likes Received:
    881
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    You're all whiners, live with it!
     
    fastrd400, Sep 18, 2011
    #11
  12. wontonflip

    Ian Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    924
    Likes Received:
    261
    Location:
    UK
    I'll take a look at that one too ;)

    Does chat work ok, even with the error?
     
    Ian, Sep 22, 2011
    #12
  13. wontonflip

    little_fish Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    15,713
    Likes Received:
    2,574
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    i think so, but i havent been able to get on chat much to test it out
     
    little_fish, Sep 22, 2011
    #13
  14. wontonflip

    Ian Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    924
    Likes Received:
    261
    Location:
    UK
    No probs, I'll try and get this fixed in the coming week :)
     
    Ian, Sep 24, 2011
    #14
  15. wontonflip

    Ian Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    924
    Likes Received:
    261
    Location:
    UK
    Really sorry Hannah, but I've been trying to fix this today and I can't see what would be causing the error :(. I'll keep my eyes peeled for any patches, but as it's not stopping it from working I think it may just be a bug that's around until the chat company fix it.
     
    Ian, Sep 27, 2011
    #15
  16. wontonflip

    little_fish Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    15,713
    Likes Received:
    2,574
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    thats cool with me! Thanks for checking in on it for me!
     
    little_fish, Sep 27, 2011
    #16
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.