need an idea marine gods

mikej2336

Reefing newb
i went to my LFS here and found a moorish idol and to my understanding this fish is really hard to keep and im only a ROOKIE is there any truth about this guys? plus, i want the whole crew of the movie "finding nemo" like the royal gramma basslet, black spotted puffer, moorish idol, 2 clownfish, regal tang, yellow tang and i'll add yellow tail damsel coz of her color..now my question would be this, what will be the sequence in buying them? i have 75g bow..thanks n advncd. marine gods esp. biff and all the rest its been a big help readin the forums here..

moorish idols should be left in the ocean and a regal tang will be two big for a 75g, and i would skip putting any damsel in your tank, they are bastards

Just send your money to me. If you buy a moorish idol it will die. I don't think any puffers are really reef safe and a regal tang will get way to big for your tank.

clowns are always good starters and the yellow tang wouldnt hurt, but it might outgrow the 75 also, and i would pass on the puffer unless you wanted a predator tank and i dont think thats what your going for

The whole finding nemo 'crew' wont do well.

To summarize what the 'gods' will say;
Dont buy the moorish idol.
The whole crew is to much for your tank.
I dont think the puffer would get along with em.
You could probably go with the clowns, yellow tang, and royal
You forgot about the shrimp (pepe or something)

Heniochus are called the poor mans moorish idol because they are usually not as expensive and are easier to keep, but they both require tanks larger than a 75. I kept a moorish idol for about a year, until it outgrew my 110, they are not easy fish and can be very finicky to get feeding. When you get more experience and upgrade your tank to something more in the 6' long range than they can be a very good fish, but most people simply don't have the system for them. Not to mention that they tend to pick at coral.