Returning to the hobby

Graffiti Reef

Reef-itti Artist
Hello all, Im new here, nice to meet you all. I took a hiatus from the hobby after leaving home to go to college, the dorms/apts didnt allow pets so I had to sell my aquarium (and my awesome bad @ss fish) which was basically an aggressive marine tank. Im returning to the hobby with the intention of making a reef aquarium but it's a completely new ballgame opposed to what I had, a fish only tank with a few "living" rock structures. Ive been doing research but I feel Im experiencing information overload with everything thats out there. I still have to buy my tank (looking for 150-200g) and am confused with everything I need. Im also confused as to what filtration system would work best for what Im wanting to do. Does anybody have a list of what they would recommend, (i.e. equipment, brands, preferred filteration set-up) Im a little intimidated and not looking for something too complicated, I graduated with a degree in psychology not physics :P Any hel.advice would be appreciated and thanks for taking the time to help. Your awesome!

Ahhh! Another Michigander.. Welcome to the site.

I'm not going to get into specific models, but here is essentially what you need.

1. A Big ass tank.
2. A skimmer. (Reef Octopus are popular)
3. Heater(s) (2 for redundency)
4. A sump. (tank that goes under your display tank)
5. 1-2 lbs. of live rock per gallon of water.
6. Lights. (The selection of lighting is important depending on what you plan to keep)
7. Powerheads (you want at least 10x the flow of your tank per gallon.
8. A return pump to push water from the sump to your display.
9. Plumbing.
10.Patience

If there's anything I can do to help you out, let me know. I'm about 10 minutes from you.

Ahhh! Another Michigander.. Welcome to the site.

I'm not going to get into specific models, but here is essentially what you need.

1. A Big ass tank.
2. A skimmer. (Reef Octopus are popular)
3. Heater(s) (2 for redundency)